UPI Web Desk

‘Kashmiris will continue with their struggle till freedom is achieved,’ Geelani says

‘Kashmiris will continue with their struggle till freedom is achieved,’ Geelani says
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Authorities on Friday barred Hurriyat (G) Chairman Syed Ali Geelani from offering Friday prayers in Masjid Iqra in Lal Chowk.

The spokesman said that Geelani was stopped after he defied house arrest restrictions. The police forces outside his residence did not allow him to venture out to march towards Masjid Iqra.

He said that large contingents of police and CRPF were deployed on main roads leading to the residence of Syed Ali Geelani and no one is allowed to move out of Hurriyat office, said Spokesman.

Hurriyat on May 4 had announced that Syed Ali Geelani will offer Friday congregational prayers and added that resistance leadership had planned to stage a peaceful protest against civilian killings in Shopian.

Hurriyat said soon as Geelani moved towards Lal Chowk Srinagar to offer Friday prayers, he was prevented by a heavy contingent of police from doing so.

Lashing at authorities Syed Ali Geelani said that Delhi groomed authorities have unleashed a reign of “terror” against innocent civilians in state, saying even innocent students are being killed.

Geelani in his address said by placing curbs and detaining resistance leaders, the government was denying them to stage peaceful protests.

Syed Ali Geelani said Kashmiris will continue with their struggle till freedom is achieved. He said the sacrifices of youth won’t go waste and nobody will be allowed to play with their sacrifices, saying we will never surrender or succumb to pressure but will pursue our cherished mission till it is taken to its logical conclusion. Nowhere on earth are such “repressive” measures being employed by authorities.

Geelani expressed serious concern over the deteriorating health condition of senior resistance leader Shabir Ahmad Shah in Tihar Jail, saying that “He is suffering from multiple ailments; however, he is not being provided specific treatment. “The incarcerated leader is being subjected to political vendetta,” Geelani, in a statement today, said.

“Those languishing in jails including Masarat Aalam Bhat , Dr Ghulam Mohd Bhat, Altaf Ahmed Shah, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Zahoor Ahmed Watali, Shahid Yusuf, Dr Qassim Faktoo, Dr Shafi Shariati, Gh Qadir Bhat, Tariq Ahmad Dar, Manzoor Ahmad, Mohd Muzaffar Dar, Gh Mohd Khan Sopori, Ameer Hamza, Ab Gani Bhat, Mir Hafeez Ullah, Mohd Yousuf Falahi, Raies Ahmad Dar, Shakeel Ahmad Yatoo and Mohammad Yousuf Mir and others are meted out ill treatment and in absence of proper medical care they are facing immense hardships. Despite their falling health no medical treatment or care is provided to them.

Lashing at authorities, Geelani said that they have virtually turned state into a prison and basic rights are denied and trampled by authorities.

He condemned authorities for continuous detention placing Mohd Ashraf Sehrai and Mohd Ashraf Laya under house arrest. Syed Ali Geelani urged the people of the state to boycott all upcoming elections, saying that “it provides Indian leadership opportunity to mislead world community”

Hurriyat also staged a protest against continuous house detention of Syed Ali Geelani and the civilian killings in Shopian, Pulwama and Islamabad. A spokesman in a statement said that peaceful protests after congregational Friday prayers were held in Hyderpora Srinagar. Statement said that Hurriyat Conference organized a peaceful protest at Hyderpora Srinagar against the killing spree and besides large number of people and leadership including Nisar Hussain Rather, Feroz Ahmad Khan, Syed Mohammad Shafi, Mohammad Yousuf Naqash, Molvi Bashir Irfani, Hakeem Abdul Rashid, Mohammad Yaseen Aataie, Mohammad Shafi Lone, Imtiyaz Ahmad Shah, Yasmeen Raja, Gulshan Aabas, Syed Yasoof, Syed Imtiyaz Haider, Mohammad Saleem Zargar, Khawaja Firdous, Syed Bashmir Indrabi, Mohammad Shafi Mir, Nazir Ahmad Shah, Haji Mohammad Ramzan, Ashiq Hussian, Abdul Ahad Mir, and Wali Mohammad Mir and others participated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *