UPI Web Desk

Govt appoints three new members to SHRC

Govt appoints three new members to SHRC
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


The state government has appointed three fresh members to State Human Rights Comission (SHRC).

The three members are Abdul Hamid Wani, former IAS officer, Dilshad Shaheen, former special secretary, Home department and Chander Mohan Sharma, a Jammu-based lawyer.

SHRC comprises of a chairperson and four members.

Two of them – chairperson and a member – were filled by the government in October  last year by appointing Justice Bilal Nazki as its chairperson and Jang Bahadur Singh Jamwal, district and session judge (retired), as member

Created in 1997, at the height of human rights violations in Kashmir, SHRC has registered 5153 cases or complaints of which 3995 have been disposed off.

Ex-gratia relief and compassionate appointments have been recommended in 1050 cases.

However, the commission, during the past 19-years, has failed to live up to the expectations and deliver judgements in cases involving the state actors and often been referred to as a “toothless tiger”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *